HoloHolo Hawai`i logo
Turnout lower, but competition fierce
16 canoe fleet for Hauraki Hoe '99

To: outrigger@outrigger.org
From: Richard Nu'u

I’ve had a few inquiries from around the country with regards to the results of the 9th Annual Hauraki Hoe Outrigger Canoe Race held in Auckland N.Z. on the 13th of March, so here we go;

Due to a change of the starting venue, the course for this year Hauraki Hoe Marathon was altered slightly reducing the race distance for the changes division from 72km to 66km. Unfortunately the numbers were not up on previous years, however, this did not effect the level of competition, particularly in the open divisions.

In near picture perfect conditions Hoe International, put together by Rob Kaiwai and including Australian based paddlers Lance O’Conner, Andy Penney and Marty Streker led the field of 16 canoes out of the Auckland harbour and into the Hauraki Gulf. After Compass Dolphin, some thirty minutes into the race, a quick crew change saw defending champions Hauraki Sports Club combined with 3 Mitimitaga paddlers make a challenge for the lead. At Bean Rock the lead was secured by Hauraki Sports which they held until the end of the race despite some strong challenges by Hoe International.

The Akarana ‘Kenneys’ crews numbers were boosted this year with the inclusion of 4 Australian paddlers including Steve West and Guy Wilding. Although in touch with the race leader for the first hour or so, a tactical error at the Rangitoto Lighthouse effectively put them out of contention for a top two placing. Akarana managed to hold off arch rivals Taniwha however, to take third place.

Meanwhile, a battle royal was taking place in the women division. Lake Pupuke based Taniwha Club, ‘Wahine Maia’ had a flyer of a start leading the ladies division out of the Auckland harbour by about 300m at Compass Dolphin. By the Rangitoto Lighthouse, Northland based Mitimitaga led defending champions, Hauraki Sports Club ‘3 Non Blondes’ past Taniwha. Mitimitaga fought courageously to hold the lead however after some 4 hours of intense racing, Hauraki Sports eventually took the lead. Despite some strong challenges by Mitimitaga, Hauraki Sports manage to retain there title by a mere 1min 16seconds.

Results: 9th Hauraki Hoe, 1999
Open Men:
1. Hauraki Sports ‘HSC/Miti Combo’ 4hrs 15min 29sec
2. Hoe Intenational 4hrs 20min 41sec
3. Akarana 4hrs 26min 37sec
4. Taniwha 4hrs 29min 19sec
5. Nga Tai Whakarongo 4hrs 45 min 58sec
6. Pakuranga ‘AFWB’ 4hrs 50min 10sec
7. Akarana ‘Fat Boys’ 4hrs 57min 3sec
8. Akarana ‘FEA’ 5hrs 07min 58sec
9. Tamaki Cruzers 5hrs 11min 24sec
Open Women:
1. Hauraki Sports Club‘3 Non Blondes’ 5hrs 15min 37sec
2. Mitimitaga 5hrs 16min 53sec
3. Taniwha ‘Wahine Maia’ 5hrs 27min 12sec
4. Manukau ‘Nga Tui’ 5hrs 27min 46

Mixed: 3men/3women = crew of 5men/5women
1. Hoe Aroha 4hrs57min 9sec
2. Nge Tai Whakarongo 5hrs 11min 51sec
1. Tanwha Grizzlies 4hrs 50min28sec

The next major race on the NZ calendar is the Tauranga Moana on May 8th, 1999. This is held in the beautiful Bay of Plenty. Races include OC1 and OC6 on an inner harbour flat water marathon course. This race probably has the largest participation outside our National Sprints event and has a reputation for putting on a fantastic meal afterwards! See you there.

Richard Nu`u

Hele on to Canoe Club News

Last Modified: Wednesday - 19990317.12:42 HST
Produced online by HoloHolo Internet Publishing all rights reserved