1996 Bankoh Moloka`i Hoe
Outrigger Canoe Race

October 13 , 1996

The 45th annual, 41-mile Moloka`i-to-O`ahu world championship outrigger canoe race.

Sunday, October 13, 1996. First team expected to finish before 1:00 p.m.

Starts at 7:30 am at Moloka`i Ranch's Hale O Lono Harbor, Moloka`i and crosses the Kaiwi (Moloka`i) channel to a finish at Fort DeRussy Beach, Waikiki, O`ahu.

The race is owned, organized and produced by the Oahu Hawaiian Canoe Racing Association (OHCRA).

Sponsored as a community service by Bank of Hawaii.

In 1991 Bank of Hawaii commissioned two fiberglass canoes. Based on selection by OHCRA, one canoe is loaned for the race to a visiting team, the other is loaned to a canoe team from Hawai`i.

The Jericho Canoe Club from Canada and Koolau Canoe Club from O`ahu will use the canoes this year.

Each team consists of nine paddlers with six in the canoe at one time. Paddlers rotate positions in open-ocean exchanges as the race progresses across the channel. A record 95 teams participated in 1995. Divisions include koa and non-koa (fiberglass) canoes in both open and masters competition. Over 100 crews are expected on the line this year.

Hawaii's Lanikai Canoe Club in 1995 paddled their fiberglass canoe to a record four hours, 53 minutes, 03 seconds, the second club to finish under five hours.

In 1994 Faaa,Tahiti finished in 4:55.27.

Koa Division: Five hours,11 minutes,38 seconds - Hui Nalu Canoe Club, Hawai`i. October 8, 1989.

Participants include world-class teams from Australia, California, Canada, Europe, Tahiti, and the United States mainland and Hawai`i.

Founded in 1952 by the late A.E. "Toots" Minvielle, the race is considered the men's world championship of long distance outrigger canoe racing, the State of Hawaii's official team sport.

The event is free and open to the public. Spectators are invited to come to Fort DeRussy Beach to participate in the colorful finish.

An awards ceremony is held on the beach at approximately 3 pm on race day. In addition to first overall trophies in the fiberglass and koa divisions, numerous trophies are given in the age group divisions. Memorial trophies are also presented.

The John DeRego Award for outstanding contributions, the Oahu Hawaiian Canoe Racing Association (OHCRA), and other canoe racing associations, will be presented to the family of the late Kala Kukea. This award is only given on special occasions

Race Coordinator:
Joan Malama, 933 Lunahelu Street, Kailua, HI 96734. Phone: 808-261-6615. Fax: 808-262-3324.

Press Boats:
Two press boats are utilized for the crossing and at the finish. Space is by advance reservation only.

Satellite Feeds:
Complimentary edited satellite news feeds of the race will be uplinked worldwide at 5:30 pm on race day (11:30 EST). For information regarding coordinates and feed time, please contact Carol Hogan.

Carol Hogan - Ocean Promotion

Piia Aarma - Bank of Hawai`i
Phone: 808-537-8660 - Fax: 808-537-8440

Hele On Back

Last Modified: Wednesday - 10-09-96
Copyright 1996, HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved