holoholo hawaii gif Goto Kaneohe YC
TransPac Early entries hit 24; upwards of 50 total expected
separate start for 30s and 40s on July 2

webbar gif

More TransPac News

by Rich Roberts

Long Beach CA (March 18, 1999) -- Roy Disney's new maxi sled Pyewacket tops the list of 24 early entries for this summer's 40th biennial Transpacific Yacht Race to Hawai`i, but smaller boats also are commanding interest. A flock of entries in the 30- and 40-foot ranges has prompted organizers to establish a separate starting day for them on Friday, July 2.

Previously, all monohulls except those in the Cruising class were scheduled to start off Point Fermin on Saturday, July 3. But with 10 30s and 40s already entered and more anticipated, the Transpac board of directors hoped to avoid a starting line congested with boats of disparate size and performance and also compress the finish in Honolulu.

TPYC Commodore L.J. Edgcomb said, "It was a difficult decision, coming so late in the planning process, but the surge in interest from the 30s and 40s left us with a dilemma. We hope this special starting date will make it a more enjoyable experience for them and everybody."

Other starting dates remain the same. The Cruising class for classic displacement-type boats will start June 29. The largest monohulls will start July 3, as originally scheduled, three days before the multihull fleet.

The early entries were received by the March 1 discount deadline and were well ahead of the pace two years ago when 41 boats entered and 38 started the West Coast's most prestigious sailing event. Boats under 50 feet signing up by March 1 paid an entry fee of only $600, compared to $750 now. The fee for boats 50 feet and longer jumped from $800 to $1,000. Members of US Sailing are entitled to $50 discounts.

Entry chairman Dan Nowlan estimated that the final list would approach 50.

"If you look at the boats that aren't entered that you know will enter, you can see that the turbo sled class is going to have three or four more boats, and we expect to have more 50s," Nowlan said.

Among the two-dozen entries to date is William Rawson's Dubois 43 Sweet Caroline from Australia.

Entry forms are available by writing to entry chairman Dan Nowlan at 4224 Point Loma Ave., San Diego, CA 92107. Nowlan also may be contacted by phone or fax at (619) 224-0198 or by e-mail .

Pyewacket, the 75-foot Reichel/Pugh successor to Disney's "turbocharged" 70 that set a Transpac record in '97, has already won the Pineapple Cup from Ft. Lauderdale to Jamaica in near-record time. Also in the maxi class are Doug Baker's Andrews 70 Magnitude, recently first to finish the Marina del Rey to Puerto Vallarta race, and Bob McNeil's and John Parrish's R/P 75 Zephyrus IV. Both lost their masts in the windy '97 Transpac but possess record potential.

Also entered is Bob Lane's Andrews 56 Medicine Man, now turbocharged with water ballast and a mast nine feet taller at 72 feet. With a three-day head start in '97, the blue boat was the first of six to break Merlin's 20-year-old record. It will start on the same day this time.

More Transpac information, including past results and press releases, is available on the race website www.transpacificyc.org.

Rich Roberts
1258 Lakme Ave.
Wilmington, CA 90744
Phone: (310) 835-2526
Fax: (310) 513-1664

Elapsed Time Records

Monohull: Pyewacket, Roy Disney, Los Angeles YC, 1997 7 days 15 hours 24 minutes 40 seconds.

Multihull: Explorer, Bruno Peyron, YC La Baule, 1997 -- 5 days 9 hours 18 minutes 26 seconds.

Cruising Class: Salsipuedes, Fred Frye, San Diego YC, 1997 12 days 6 hours 57 minutes 57 seconds.

Transpac 99
Entries as of March 1, 1999

DIVISION I (starts July 3, 1 p.m.)
Boat Name Owner/Skipper Type Home Port/Club
Pyewacket Roy E. Disney R/P maxi 75 Los Angeles YC
Zephyrus IV McNeil/Parrish R/P maxi 75 St. Francis/SDYC
Magnitude Doug Baker Andrews 70 turbo Long Beach YC
DIVISION II (starts July 3, 1 p.m.)
Mongoose Robert Saielli Santa Cruz 70 San Diego YC
Velos Kjeld Hestehave Tanton 73 San Diego YC
Medicine Man Bob Lane Andrews 56 turbo Long Beach YC
DIVISION III (starts July 3, 1 p.m.)
Stealth Chicken Bruce Anderson Perry 56 Voyagers YC
Gone With the Wind LeRoy/Caseino SC 50 turbo St. Francis YC
DIVISION IV (starts July 2, 1 p.m.)
Uproarious Robert Bussard Olson 40 Silver Gate YC
Glamal Seth Radon Sydney 41 California YC
Sweet Caroline William Rawson Dubois 43 Royal YC, Vic. Aust.
Vendetta* Ernie Richau Olson 30 Alamitos Bay YC
Love Machine Joshua Dean Peterson 40 TSPYC
Kiwi* Dawson/Coolidge Hobie 33 Channel Islands YC
Prime Time Borkowski/Sherlock Olson 40 Channel Islands YC
Apollo V Ned Knight Peterson 42Point Loma YC
Bolt Craig Reynolds CF 41 M Balboa YC
Tower Don Clothier Lidgard 45 Waikiki YC
CRUISING DIVISION (starts June 29)
Esprit Robert Pace Kelly Peterson 46 Oceanside YC
Goodnight Moon Carlton Vanderbeek IOR Swan 431 Dana Point YC
Willow Wind Wendy Siegal Cal 40 Cortez Racing Assn.
Endeavor III Bell/Clitheroe C&C 40 Royal Canadian YC
Pacifica Douglas Jones S&S 49 Southwestern YC
Hurricane Kim Stebbens Septre 41 Sloop Tavern TV

*HoloHolo Hawai`i Ocean Sports News

Last Modified: Thursday - 19990318.14:23 HST
Copyright 1995/99, HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved