The 1996 Red Dog Triple Crown of Surfing Series

November 16 through December 20, 1996

The Red Dog Triple Crown of Surfing is actually a series of six different professional big wave surf contests held at three different venues on Oahu's North Shore. The Triple Crown marks the conclusion of the year-long CocaCola/ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) World Tour. Following the final contest in the Triple Crown of Surfing, the men's and women's world champions are crowned. The 1996 Triple Crown of Surfing contests are:

* The OP Pro Surfing Championship (men, women and junior divisions), November 16 to 25, 1996: Alii Beach Park, Haleiwa, North Shore of O`ahu.

* The Zeal Optics presents the G-SHOCK World Cup of Surfing and the Quiksilver Roxy Women's Championship November 26 to December 7, 1996: Venue: Sunset Beach. Men's and Women's event.

* The Chiemsee Gerry Lopez Pipe Masters, December 9 to 20, 1996: Venue: Banzai Pipeline, Ehukai Beach Park.
It's the best free show in town. No admission charge, just show up at the beach.

The first two men's contests require four full days to complete, the women's and junior's contests take an additional two days. Because these are big wave contests, surfing is held only on the days the surf is biggest and best as determined by the contest director. The Pipe Masters contest takes four days to complete. Ordinarily, the minimum wave height is six-feet with a maximum of 18-to 20feet.

Each morning during the competition, the executive director and contest director evaluate wave conditions. If the waves are considered good, the contest is called on -- if the waves are not acceptable the contest is called off for that day. Sometimes a contest can be put on standby on an hourly basis if wave conditions are expected to improve. Surfers and press are notified following the contest directors decision.

Each year there is a contest within a contest as surfers vie for the title of Triple Crown Champion. Throughout the event surfers are awarded points based on their placement in each of the three contests. At the end of the final contest the surfer with the most points is named Triple Crown Champion. The 1995 Triple Crown Championship was won by Kelly Slater, Florida.

For media information throughout the year, please contact:
Carol Hogan/Ocean Promotion,

Triple Crown News Directory

Last Modified: Monday 11/18/96 0649 HST
Copyright 1996, HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved