96 Triple Crown News

Men's and Women's Events Underway

Sunset Beach, Oahu, Hawaii (Dec.3, 1996) ... After eight days of waiting for waves, the G-Shock World Cup of Surfing presented by Zeal Optics, and the Quiksilver/Roxy Women's Pro got underway today in challenging 3-5 foot waves on Sunset Point. While there were plenty of waves available surfers had to negotiate winds of 12-15 knots and feathering white-water sections in search of the better scores.

The trials rounds of both the men's and women's events were run to completion, with a mixed bag of international results across the board. The first of the seeded competitors will enter the draw tomorrow.

Brian Pacheco (Waianae) was the most outstanding of the local Hawaiian entrants, looking relaxed and focused in the line-up to score an average of almost seven points from a possible 10 across his best three waves. Pacheco. 20, surf in round two tomorrow against Dino Andino (USA), Marty Thomas (USA) and Taj Burrow (Australia).

In total, 10 Hawaiians advanced to tomorrow's men's round two: Shawn Sutton ; Liam McNamara; Noah Budroe; Mikala Jones; Jason Gantz; Jun Jo; Brock Little; John Gomes; Pacheco; and Myles Padaca.

The top score of the opening round of the G-Shock World Cup of Surfing was posted by Australian Taj Burrow, who most recently appeared in the spotlight when he placed second in the OP Pro Junior event at Haleiwa a little over a week ago. Topping the list with a total of 22.00 points out of a maximum of 30, Burrow edged out Pacheco to lead an international field of 36 surfers to advance from round one.

Joining the Hawaiians in round two will be USA Mainlanders Chris Ward; Hank Mills; Cory Lopez; Matt Keenan; Keith Malloy; Tim Curran; Pete Rocky; Gavin Beschen; Dan Malloy; and Christopher Strother; Australians Scott Wildin; Joel Fitzgerald; Sasha Stocker; Paul Paterson; Jye Gofton; Burrow; Cheyne Horan; and Nicky Wood; Japanese Takayuki Fukuchi; Norimasa Ono; Takayuki Wakita; and Naohisa Ogawa; and William Sue-A-Quan (Puerto Rico); Pedro Muller (Brazil); and Lyle Bottcher (South Africa).

South African Bottcher was the second highest scoring surfer of the day with a total of 21.93 out of 30 points.

In the women's Quiksilver Roxy Pro, Tahiti's Patricia Rossi displayed her aggressive skills to earn the two highest wave scores -- 8.67 and 7.67-- and the highest heat score, 19.50. Australia's Pru Jeffries answered back with her own 8.67 score.

Advancing in to Round one of the women's main event are: Australia: Kate Skarratt; Serena Brooke; Kim Wooldridge; Pru Jeffries; Melanie Redman. Brazil: Andrea Lopes. France: Emanuelle Joly. Hawaii: Melissa Proud; Megan Abubo; Sarah Livermore; Keala Kennelly; Melanie Bartels. Japan: Miyuki Onozato; Narumi Kitagawa. Portugal: Patricia Lopes. Tahiti: Patricia Rossi.

More men's heats will take place tomorrow and the women's contest will be completed with an award ceremony following the final, surf permitting.

The hotline number for updated, recorded contest information is: 808/638-5024

Media information:
Carol Hogan or Jodi Holmes
808/638-5533. Fax: 808/638-5008


Triple Crown News Directory

Last Modified: Tuesday 12/3/96 1959 HST
Copyright 1996, HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved