Hawai`i Weather -|- Waves -|- Wave Forecast

North Shore, O`ahu, HAWAI`I - (Tuesday, November 7, 2000) -- Hot on the heels of Australian Neridah Falconerıs win in yesterdayıs Billabong Girls on Maui, which was the first event of the 2000 Vans G-Shock Triple Crown of Surfing, the worldıs top professional surfers will now converge upon O`ahuıs North Shore, where they will see out the season.

While three individual menıs and womenıs champions will be determined throughout the course of competition, the true prestige of this multi-event series lays in the crowning of the male and female Vans Triple Crown champions. These two surfers will have proven themselves by being the most consistently high performing individuals throughout the three menıs and three womenıs events:

G-Shock Hawaiian Pro, Haleiwa, Aliıi Beach Park, November 12-22
Rip Curl Cup, Sunset Beach, November 24-December 7
Mountain Dew Gerry Lopez Pipe Masters, December 8-21

The Billabong Girls, Maui, which concluded yesterday.
The G-Shock Hawaiian Pro, Haleiwa, Aliıi Beach Park, November 12-22
Quiksilver Roxy Pro, Sunset Beach, November 24-December 7

Following her win yesterday, Falconer has taken an early lead in the Vans Triple Crown ratings for women.

The pressure for the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) world title is off. Hawaiiıs own Sunny Garcia clinched the menıs title recently in Brazil, and Australian Layne Beachley fifth place in the Billabong Girls yesterday earned her enough points to sew up the womenıs world title race. But every surfer knows that the season isnıt over until the Vans Triple Crown has been completed. These events are the most coveted in the world, making an individualıs performance in Hawaiiıs infamous winter swells his or her final talent statement of the year.

In addition to a healthy prize purse, this year's men's Vans G-Shock Triple Crown of Surfing title will offer an extra bounty - a Special Edition Ford Ranger "Edge" truck.

In perfect timing for the first O`ahu event, the G-Shock Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa, starting this Sunday, a new swell is scheduled to hit the North Shore on Friday. The G-Shock Hawaiian Pro will see the first appearances of Garcia and Beachley as the world champions of 2000.

In conjunction with the G-Shock Hawaiian Pro, the worldıs premier big-wave-riding longboard event will be held: the Bear Hawaiian Pro Longboard Invitational. This competition will feature (#) world champions, including world champion elect Beau Young (Australia), and former world champions Rusty Keaulana (Hawaii), Bonga Perkins (Hawaii), Joel Tudor (USA), and Joey Hawkins (USA).

An official press launch of the Vans G-Shock Triple Crown of Surfing will take place in Honolulu this Friday, November 10.

The Vans G-Shock Triple Crown of Surfing is made possible through the proud support of Vans, Mountain Dew, G-Shock, PlayStation, Ford Ranger, Right Guard Xtreme Sport (Gilette), Rolling Stone, ESPN/ESPN2, Rip Curl, Quiksilver Roxy, Billabong, Surfrider Foundation, the Hawaii Visitors Bureau, and the ASP.

For further information about any/all of these events:
Jodi Young, OCEAN PROMOTION (808) 337-2323


Back to The Beach

Last Modified: Wednesday - 20001108.09:02 EST
Copyright İ 1995-2000 Triple Crown Of Surfing
Produced OnLine by HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved