Hawai`i Weather -|- Waves -|- Wave Forecast

ASP Official Results

Haleiwa, O`ahu, HAWAI`I - (Friday, November 18, 2000) -- Jaqueline Silva posted an emotional win for her home country of Brazil when she took first place in the womenıs G-Shock Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa today. Putting together a string of excellent performances that peaked in the final, Silva, 21, was the only surfer to emerge undefeated after four rounds of competition.

Mastering the shifty 3-5 foot waves with variable winds and tides, Silva went on to take the final honors from South African Heather Clarke, and Australian pair Lynette MacKenzie and Pauline Menczer. Based on each surferıs top three rides, Silvaıs final tally showed 18 points out of a possible 30, to Clarkeıs 16.85, MacKenzieıs 15.1, and Menczerıs 11.3 points.

"I felt very good today," said Silva. "I woke up feeling good this morning and I knew it was going to be my day.

"It is a very difficult thing for a Brazilian woman to win Hawai`i, so this means everything to the Brazilians. It is especially wonderful."

While Silva competed exclusively on the womenıs World Qualifying Series (WQS) this year, her performance throughout the season has guaranteed her a place next year on the elite World Championship Tour (WCT) ­ the tour that determines the world champion of the sport. Silva did qualify for the WCT for the first time in 1998, but failed to get the results to stay there. Her results this year guarantee her a second chance at closing in on a world title.

The top-placed Hawaiian today was Rochelle Ballard, who finished equal seventh after a loss in the semi-finals. Haleiwa's own Megan Abubo placed equal ninth with a quarter final elimination.

In the battle for the 2000 Vans G-Shock Triple Crown title, Australian Neridah Falconer still heads the field, based upon points earned from her win in the first event of the series ­ the Billabong Girls on Maui, and her fifth place today. The Vans Triple Crown offers the women an additional $7,500 prize purse for the most consistent performer throughout the three events.

The third and final stop of the series will begin next week: the Quiksilver Roxy Pro which officially gets underway at Sunset Beach next Friday, November 24.

In the Bear Hawaiian Pro Longboard Invitational, the quarter finals were completed today, setting the stage for tomorrowıs semi-finals and final. Dominating the tough conditions were Hawaiians Rusty Keaulana, Lance Hookano, and Bonga Perkins, Australian Wayne Deane, Brazilıs Phil Razjman, and Mainland trio Kevin Connelly, Josh Baxter and Cody Simpkins.

The forecast is for a new swell to arrive tomorrow morning, offering the conditions needed to finalize the menıs G-Shock Hawaiian Pro and the Bear Longboard Invitational events.

The Vans G-Shock Triple Crown of Surfing is made possible through the proud support of Vans, Mountain Dew, G-Shock, PlayStation, Ford Ranger, Right Guard Xtreme Sport, Rolling Stone, ESPN, Rip Curl, Quiksilver Roxy, Billabong, Surfrider Foundation, the Hawaii Visitors Bureau, and the ASP.

Check out all the latest on http://www.swell.com ­ offering live stream feeds of the dayıs events, along with all the scores, results and images of the events.

For further information:
Contact Jodi Young in the Verizon Wireless media center at the event:
Telephone: (808) 637-5081

G-Shock Hawaiian Pro Womenıs Final:
1st Jaqueline Silva (Brazil)
2nd Heather Clarke (South Africa)
3rd Lynette MacKenzie (Australia)
4th Pauline Menczer (Australia)

Back to The Beach

Last Modified: Saturday - 20001118.10:58 EST
Copyright İ 1995-2000 Triple Crown Of Surfing
Produced OnLine by HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved