Hawai`i Weather -|- Waves -|- Wave Forecast

2001 ASP World Tour Schedule Announced

ASP Official Results

Pipeline, O`ahu, Hawai`i (Sunday, December 10, 2000) -- Hawaii's world surfing champion elect, Sunny Garcia, claimed a record fifth Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title today without getting his feet wet. Holding a giant lead on the Vans Triple Crown ratings coming into the Mountain Dew Pipe Masters, the only person mathematically capable of overtaking Garcia was Kaipo Jaquias (Haw). However, Jaquias' elimination in the pre-trials today put the win beyond doubt for Garcia. The only question mark remaining for Garcia now is can he win one more event to become the first surfer to ever win all three Triple Crown tournaments during the same winter?

A lag in the arrival of a large, new swell resulted in a late start and early finish to today's pre-trial rounds. Forecast to build to 10-12 feet, the swell did not eventuate and the average 4-6 foot conditions were further aggravated by a light onshore breeze.

Round one and the quarter finals of the pre-trials were run to completion with many of the "big name" barrel riders failing to advance. Among them, John Gomes (1997 Pipe Masters champion, Haw.), Vans Triple Crown title contender Kaipo Jaquias (Haw), Liam MacNamara (Haw), California's Joey Buran (1984 Pipe Masters champion), and world Masters champion Michael Ho (Haw).

Advancing to the semi-finals were Tiago Pires (Portugal), Carlos Cabrero (Puerto Rico), Roy Powers (Hawaii), Pancho Sullivan (Hawaii), Joel Tudor (California), Braden Dias (Hawaii), Derek Ho (Hawaii), and defending pre-trials champion Tamayo Perry (Hawaii).

The semi-finals and final of the pre-trials will run on the next day of competition. The goal of the remaining competitors is to finish in the top two spots of the final, thereby earning a wildcard berth into the main event of the 30th Mountain Dew Gerry Lopez Pipe Masters. Two wildcard berths have already been awarded to six-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (Florida), and 1999 Pipe Masters runner-up Shane Wehner (Australia).

Deteriorating surf conditions may cause a postponement of competition tomorrow, however, it is looking good for Tuesday.

The Mountain Dew Pipe Masters is the third and final stop of the 2000 Vans Triple Crown. The full waiting period for the event is December 9-21. As the final stop on the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Championship Tour (WCT) for 2000, the Mountain Dew Pipe Masters will determine the elite WCT Top 44 competitor lineup for 2001.

The Vans G-Shock Triple Crown of Surfing is made possible through the proud support of major sponsors Vans, Mountain Dew, G-Shock, Rip Curl, Quiksilver Roxy, Billabong, as well as PlayStation, Ford Ranger, Right Guard Xtreme Sport (Gilette), Rolling Stone, ESPN/ESPN2, Surfrider Foundation, the Hawaii Visitors Bureau, and the ASP.


Round 1:
H1: Tiago Pires (Port), Michael Ho (Haw), Isaac Kaneshiro (Haw), Jesse Merle Jones (Haw)
H2: Carlos Cabrero (Prco), Rainos Hayes (Haw), Jun Jo (Haw), John Gomes (Haw)
H3: Roy Powers (Haw), Pancho Sullivan (Haw), Myles Padaka (Haw), Takayuki Wakita (Jpn)
H4: Jamie O'Brien (Haw), Rob Page (Aus), Kaipo Jaquias (Haw), Liam MacNamara (Haw)
H5: Mikala Jones (Haw), Joel Tudor (USA), Fred Patacchia (Haw), Mineto Ushikoshi (Jpn)
H6: Braden Dias (Haw), Love Hodel (Haw), Naohisa Ogawa (Jpn), Jason Shibata (Haw)
H7: Tamayo Perry (Haw), Zane Harrison (Aus), Brian Pacheco (Haw), Joey Buran (USA)
H8: Derek Ho (Haw), Bruce Irons (Haw), Sai Smiley (Haw), Paul Paterson (Aus)

Quarter Finals:
H1: Tiago Pires (Port), Carlos Cabrero (Prco), Michael Ho (Haw), Rainos Hayes (Haw)
H2: Roy Powers (Haw), Pancho Sullivan (Haw), Rob Page (Aus), Jamie O'Brien (Haw)
H3: Joel Tudor (USA), Braden Dias (Haw), Love Hodel (Haw), Mikala Jones (Haw)
H4: Derek Ho(Haw), Tamayo Perry (Haw), Bruce Irons (Haw), Zane Harrison (Aus)

Draw for Semi Finals: (first and second from each heat advance to the trials final)
H1: Tiago Pires (Port), Carlos Cabrero (Prco), Roy Powers (Haw), Pancho Sullivan (Haw)
H2: Joel Tudor (Aus), Braden Dias (Haw), Derek Ho (Haw), Tamayo Perry (Haw)

First & Second place from the final will earn a wildcard into the main event of the Mountain Dew Pipe Masters.

For further information:
Jodi Young, at the Verizon Wireless Media Trailer: (808) 638-8320

All times shown below are Eastern Standard Time

ESPN1 Thursday, 12/14/00, 3pm, G-Shock Hawaiian Pro
Wednesday, 12/20/00, 3:30pm, Rip Curl Cup & Quiksilver Roxy Pro
Wednesday, 1/24/01, 3:00pm, Mountain Dew Gerry Lopez Pipeline Masters

Thursday, 12/14/00, 9pm, G-Shock Hawaiian Pro
Sunday, 12/24/00, 12pm, G-Shock Hawaiian Pro
Saturday, 12/23/00, 9:30pm, Rip Curl Cup & Quiksilver Roxy Pro
Sunday, 12/31/00, 12:30am, Rip Curl Cup & Quiksilver Roxy Pro
Sunday, 1/21/01, 1:00am, Mountain Dew Gerry Lopez Pipeline Masters
Saturday, 1/27/01, 2:00pm, Mountain Dew Gerry Lopez Pipeline Masters

Back to The Beach

Last Modified: Monday - 20001211.10:57 EST
Copyright 1995-2000 Triple Crown Of Surfing
Produced OnLine by HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved