holoholo hawaii gif Goto Kaneohe YC
All but Vapor finish in Waikiki for awards banquet

Arrivals ~ Latest ~ More News ~ Previous News

July 16 Position reports

by Rich Roberts

Honolulu Hawai`i (July 16, 1999) - All but Vapor, the smallest entry ever, had finished the 40th Transpacific Yacht Race Friday in time for the awards banquet at the Ilikai Hotel in Waikiki Friday night.

The 25-foot B25, sailed by Bill Boyd and Scott Atwood of Long Beach, finally broke a race-long radio silence Thursday to report it was 262 miles from the Diamond Head finish line. Another contact scheduled for Thursday afternoon was unsuccessful, and Vapor again failed to report at Friday morning's roll call - indications that it was still having radio problems.

During its Thursday contact, Vapor reported that it had broken a rudder - all boats are required to carry a spare - and was proceeding under sail and required no assistance. It was expected to finish sometime Saturday morning.

Next to last wasApollo V, Ned Knight's Peterson 42 from Point Loma Yacht Club. Apollo 5, a Div. 4 entry, finished at 6:09 p.m. HST Thursday.

Standings (as of 8 a.m. PDT July 16; in order of corrected handicap time):

DIV. 1 (started July 3) -
1. Pyewacket, Roy E. Disney, Los Angeles YC, finished, elapsed time 7 days 11 hours 41 minutes 27 seconds (breaks record of 7:15:24:40 by previous Pyewacket, Roy P. Disney, 1997), corrected time 7:11:39:58;
2. Magnitude, Doug Baker, Long Beach YC, elapsed time 7:13:37:07/corrected time 7:13:36:07;
3. Zephyrus IV, Bob McNeil/John Parrish, St. Francis/San Diego YCs, 7:16:34:43/7:16:33:59;
4. Front Runner, Lou Grasso/Craig Lyons, Newport Harbor YC, 7:16:51:45/7:19:51:43;
5. Pegasus, Philippe Kahn, UC Santa Cruz Sailing Club, 7:17:51:20/7:20:50:20.

DIV. 2 (started July 3) -
1. Grand Illusion, James McDowell, Lahaina YC, 8:02:52:27/7:08:40:10 ;
2. Cheval, Steve Popovich, Cabrillo Beach YC, 8:13:47:14/7:20:44:46;
3. Velos, Kjeld Hestehave, SDYC, 9:13:31:03/7:22:55:12;
4. Mongoose, Robert Saielli, SDYC, 8:16:58:37/7:23:09:01;
5. Medicine Man, Bob Lane, LBYC, 8:15:24:12/8:00:29:07.

DIV. 3 (started July 3) -
1. Gone With the Wind, Bill LeRoy/Jim Cascino, StFYC, 9:11:41:04/7:14:45:18;
2. Stealth Chicken, Alamitos Bay Syndicate, Alamitos Bay YC, 9:08:46:14/7:19:06:40;
3. Warpath, Fred Howe, Santa Cruz YC, 9:11:37:40/7:19:56:46;
4. M-Project, Manouch Moshayedi, Bahia Corinthian YC, retired.

DIV. 4 (started July 2) -
1. Great Scot, Tom Garnier, LAYC, 12:03:22:51/7:18:36:58;
2. Tower, Don Clothier, Waikiki YC, 10:16:48:47/7:22:55:15;
3. Glama!, Seth Radow, California YC, 11:04:45:55/8:07:29:10;
4. Prime Time, John Borkowski/Richard Sherlock, Channel Islands YC, 11:12:21:567/8:11:43:31;
5. Bolt, Craig Reynolds, Balboa YC, 12:17:28:13/8:19:05:27;
6. Sweet Caroline, William Rawson, Royal YC, Australia, 12:17:40:26/9:04:20:16;
7. Uproarious, Robert Bussard, Silver Gate YC, 12:08:43:14/9:08:04:48;
8. Apollo V, Ned Knight, Point Loma YC, 13:08:09:37/9:16:00:54 .

DOUBLEHANDED DIV. (started June 29 )-
1. Two Guys On the Edge, Les Vasconcellos/Bruce Burgees, Waikiki YC, 12:10:04:31/7:21:15:24;
2. Vapor, Bill Boyd/Scott Atwood, Alamitos Bay YC, no report.

CRUISING DIV. (started June 29) -
1. Hurricane, Kim Stebbens, Sloop Tavern YC, 14:07:42:09/9:22:067:09;
2. Esprit, Bob Pace, Oceanside YC, 14:12:28:14/10:10:00:44;
3. Willow Wind, Wendy Siegal, Cortez Racing Assn., 14:16:23:04; 10:17:55:34;
4. Tango, Howard Raphael, Palo Alto, Calif., 15:20:26:22/11:05:17:37;
5. Pacifica, Doug Jones, Southwestern YC, 15:10:39:09/11:08:29:09;
6. Endeavor III, Randy Bell/Eleanor Clitheroe, Royal Canadian YC, 15:20:26:22/11:14:33:52;
7. Goodnight Moon, Carlton Vanderbeek, Dana Point YC, 15:02:24:33/12:00:20:38;
8. Derivative, John Robert Misko, Seattle, Wash., 15:19:18:14/12:04:15:44.

Photos, e-mail from boats, daily progress and position reports, charts, crew lists and other information are available on the race web page.

Arrival Party Photos are at http://holoholo.org/transpac/99arrivals/

Arrivals ~ Latest ~ More News ~ Previous News

*HoloHolo Hawai`i Ocean Sports News

Last Modified:Saturday - 19990717.11:28 HST
Copyright 1999, and produced online by
HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved