Along with individual winner's titles in each of the men's contests in the
Triple Crown of Surfing Series, a fourth title is bestowed...
that of the Triple Crown of Surfing Champion.

Inaugurated in 1983 as a contest-within-a-contest, the competition takes place during the three men's events in the Series. The winner is determined by points accumulated through placement in the men's OP Pro Surfing Championship,
Zeal Optics presents the Rip Curl World Cup of Surfing, and the
Chiemsee Gerry Lopez Pipe Masters.

Over the years since this championship was inaugurated only an elite few have won the title.

Hawaii's Michael Ho was the first to win.. The only four-time winner of the Triple Crown title is Michael's brother Derek Ho. Australian's Tom Carroll and Gary Elkerton have each won the title. Sunny Garcia, from Hawai`i, is the only competitor to win back-to-back championships, taking the title in 1992, 1993 and 1994. Kelly Slater, from Florida, had a remarkable three way win in 1995 winning the Triple Crown Championship, the Chiemsee Gerry Lopez Pipe Masters and the Coca-Cola/ASP World Championship.

The 1996 champion was Kaipo Jaquias, who won the trophy, the title and the winner's share of the $15,000 purse, which was divided between the Association of Surfing Professionals and the top three finishers of the Triple Crown Championship race.

The first women's Triple Crown Championship title presented by Kahlua will be inaugurated in 1997. This year a winner-take-all $7,500 prize will be presented to both the men's and women's winners.

1983 Michael Ho, Hawai`i 1990 Derek Ho, Hawai`i
1984 Derek Ho, Hawai`i 1991 Tom Carroll, Australia
1985 Michael Ho, Hawai`i 1992 Sunny Garcia. Hawai`i
1986 Derek Ho, Hawai`i 1993 Sunny Garcia, Hawai`i
1987 Gary Elkerton, Australia 1994 Sunny Garcia, Hawai`i
1988 Derek Ho, Hawai`i 1995 Kelly Slater, Florida
1989 Gary Elkerton, Australia 1996 Kaipo Jaquias, Hawai`i

Back to The Beach

Last Modified: Thursday 11/20/97 1019 Hawaiian Time
Copyright 1997 Triple Crown Of Surfing
Produced OnLine by HoloHolo Internet Publishing, all rights reserved